Return to Headlines

Trustees Elect Officers


Performing her statutory duty, Mrs. Janet Cabassa administers the oath of office to Mrs. Ramos-Meir and Rev. Lopez
following their election during the Annual Meeting of the Yonkers Board of Education May 9, 2017.

At the 136th Annual Meeting of the Yonkers Board of Education, the Trustees re-elected Rev. Steve Lopez and Ms. Judith Ramos Meier to serve as president and vice-president respectively. Both will serve one-year terms in their leadership posts.

Rev. Lopez, who was appointed to the Board as a Trustee in 2013 by Mayor Mike Spano, remarked that "It's humbling, and a privilege to serve." Ms. Ramos-Meir, also appointed in 2013 by the Mayor, echoed his comment. 

The Yonkers Board of Education is the official policy making body of the School District. The Trustees are appointed by the Mayor and serve without pay. Their time, energy and expertise are voluntary. The Trustees are:

Rev. Steve Lopez, President

Ms. Judith Ramos Meier, Vice President

Ms. Andrea Brown, Trustee

Mr. Kevin Cacace, Trustee

Mr. James Cavanaugh, Trustee

Mr. John Jacono, Trustee

Mr. Pasquale Mondesando, Trustee

Mr. Edgar Santana, Trustee

Dr. Nader J. Sayegh, Trustee

The First Board

The Yonkers Board of Education was formed in May 1880 when the New York State legislature approved consolidating the schools.  The following year, the Trustees of the Board met to hold an organizational meeting, and to elect officers and adopt a code of by-laws.

In the 136 years since then, the Board of Education has held an Annual Meeting to elect officers from the Trustees. 

The first officers of the Board of Education were elected from among the Trustees in 1881. Duncan Smith was elected president and Matthew H. Ellis was elected vice president.

The other Trustees of the Board, all of whom were appointed by Mayor Norton P. Otis, were:

Rudolph Eickemeyer

William F. Cochran

Thomas B. Caulfield

Frederic Shonnard

Rufus Dutton

Peter Mitchell

F.C. Oakley

William H. Thrall

Etheibert Belknap

Frederick A. Back

Charles Lockwood

Michael Mooney

John Thurton