Return to Headlines

Yonkers Public Schools 2019-2020 Administrator and Teachers of the Year

 YONKERS, NY – At the June 17, 2020 Stated Meeting of the Yonkers Board of Education, President Rev. Steve Lopez, announced the 2019-2020 Yonkers Public Schools administrator and teachers of the year. “Traditionally, the Trustees present the well-deserved honorees a public tribute in-person at a Stated Meeting,” explained President Rev. Lopez. “Unfortunately, the COVID-19 health crisis disrupts routines and good intentions. Therefore, tonight we announce this year’s winners and thank our partners Mayor Mike Spano, the Yonkers Kiwanis Club and the Rotary Club of Yonkers – East Yonkers.”

Yonkers Middle High School Principal Jade Sharp receives the Leadership in Education Award cosponsored with the Rotary Club of Yonkers-East Yonkers and the Board of Education.

Montessori School 31 primary teacher Maureen Corrigan-Connell, Yonkers Middle High School grade 8 Social Studies teacher Beth Isenberg and Roosevelt High School – Early College Studies Spanish teacher Dr. Ida D’Ugo are the 65th Annual Teachers of the Year sponsored by Yonkers Mayor Mike Spano, the Kiwanis Club and the Board of Education. Their formal in-person presentation will take place in the fall when they will have the full excitement of receiving their honors with family, colleagues and friends present to celebrate.

“There are many extraordinary educators throughout our District,” noted Superintendent of Schools Dr. Edwin M. Quezada, “Principal Sharp, Ms. Corrigan-Connell, Ms. Isenberg and Dr. D’Ugo are consummate knowledgeable professionals. There are common threads in their nomination packets; pedagogical expertise, collegial leadership, and compassionate understanding for the children we educate and their families.”

“Yonkers is fortunate to have many talented teachers and administrators,” said Yonkers Mayor Mike Spano. “These awards are an opportunity for our Yonkers Public Schools community to publicly recognize the incredible contributions great teachers have on the academic, social and emotional development of our children. Congratulations to Principal Sharp, Ms. Corrigan-Connell, Ms. Isenberg and Dr. D’Ugo – all of whom have proven to go above and beyond to make the difference our students need and deserve.”

The Leadership in Education Award, also known as the Administrator of the Year, is presented to an administrator who personifies the spirit, dedication and accomplishments of an outstanding instructional leader. For several decades, the Rotary Club of Yonkers sponsored this award. When they merged with East Yonkers Rotary, they vowed to carry-on the tradition cosponsored with the Board of Education.

“The Rotary Club of Yonkers-East Yonkers is pleased to partner with the Yonkers Board of Education in presenting the 2020 Leadership in Education Award to Jade Sharp, Principal of Yonkers Middle High School,” noted Rotary Club President, Steve Simpson. “Rotary’s motto is ‘Service Above Self’ and, for us, the Leadership in Education Award recognizes the importance that administrative leadership plays in helping today’s students learn and become tomorrow’s community-minded leaders.”

Yonkers Rotary first partnered with the Board of Education to present this award in 1986. Rotary President Simpson added, “At that time there were 18,850 students enrolled in Yonkers public schools. While the times have certainly changed, and the school district has grown to over 26,000 students, the importance of education and leaders who are passionate and effective has not changed and our Rotary Club is pleased to recognize Jade Sharp as this year’s Leader in Education.”

For sixty-five years, the Kiwanis Club of Yonkers, in cooperation with the Yonkers Board of Education, sponsored the Teacher of Year Award giving recognition to public school teachers who have demonstrated excellence in teaching, made significant contributions to the school community and engaged in activities that have led to student growth and development. Historically, one teacher who meets these criteria is selected each year from a slate of nominees to be inducted into the Yonkers Teacher Hall of Fame. In 2015, the Mayor of the City of Yonkers joined the tribute awarding annual recognitions to outstanding elementary and secondary Yonkers teachers. Nominations are submitted online by students, parents/guardians, and colleagues.

“The Yonkers Kiwanis Club has been honoring outstanding teachers for the past 65 years through this program,” noted Judy Bartunek, Yonkers Kiwanis President. “We are delighted to recognize Ms. Corrigan-Connell, Ms. Isenberg and Dr. D’Ugo as the honorees for the 2019-2020 school year. These professionals are highly motivated, talented and dedicated teachers. We thank them for their untiring efforts to provide quality education to the students in the Yonkers school system, especially during these extraordinary times.”

The Yonkers Kiwanis Club has been serving children and families in the community for 90 years. We have awarded a scholarship to a deserving graduate of Roosevelt High School-Early College Studies, delivered food to night shift workers at St. John’s Riverside Hospital, donated funds to Kamp Kiwanis to honor Empress Ambulance as Essential Workers, will have a Book Give Away for students at the “Grab & Go” locations and will distribute school supplies in the fall. Throughout the pandemic, Kiwanis continued to serve through our programs and projects.

Kiwanis International is a global organization of volunteers dedicated to improving the world one child and one community at a time.