Trustees Elect Dr. Rosalba Corrado Del Vecchio and Ms. Gail Burns

  • Board of Education

    Yonkers Board of Education, from left: 
    Amjed I. Kuri, Sheila Greenwald, Gail Burns (Vice President) Dr. Rosalba Corrado Del Vecchio (President), Rosemarie P. Linton, Kevin Cacace, Aníbal Soler, Jr. (Superintendent of Schools), Lawrence R. Sykes, Esq. Not pictured: Dr. John C. Castanaro & Felix Rios 

    YONKERS, NY – May 7, 2024 – At the 143rd Annual Meeting of the Yonkers Board of Education, the Trustees elected Dr. Rosalba Corrado Del Vecchio and Ms. Gail Burns to serve as president and vice-president respectively. Both will serve one-year terms in their leadership posts. 

    The Yonkers Board of Education is the official policy making body of the School District. The Trustees are appointed by the Mayor. The Trustees are:

    • Dr. Rosalba Corrado Del Vecchio, President
    • Gail Burns, Vice President
    • Kevin Cacace
    • Dr. John C. Castanaro
    • Sheila Greenwald
    • Amjed I. Kuri
    • Rosemarie P. Linton
    • Felix Rios
    • Lawrence R. Sykes, Esq.

    The Yonkers Board of Education was formed in May 1880 when the New York State legislature approved consolidating the schools.  The following year, the Trustees of the Board met to hold an organizational meeting, and to elect officers and adopt a code of by-laws.

    In the years since then, the Board of Education has held an Annual Meeting to elect officers from the Trustees and to adopt what is now known as the Policy Manual.

    The first officers of the Board of Education were elected from among the Trustees in 1881. Duncan Smith was elected president and Matthew H. Ellis was elected vice president.

    The other Trustees of the Board, all of whom were appointed by Mayor Norton P. Otis, were:

    • Rudolph Eickemeyer
    • William F. Cochran
    • Thomas B. Caulfield
    • Frederic Shonnard
    • Rufus Dutton
    • Peter Mitchell
    • F.C. Oakley
    • William H. Thrall
    • Etheibert Belknap
    • Frederick A. Back
    • Charles Lockwood
    • Michael Mooney
    • John Thurton